2017 Tino Martinez Award Finalists Named

The finalists for the 2017 Tino Martinez Award have been determined. The award honors DII baseball’s most outstanding player and is named after the former University of Tampa Spartan, Olympian and MLB All-Star, Tino Martinez. Martinez is a former University of Tampa Spartan, United States Olympian, first round draft pick and MLB All-Star. While playing for the Spartans Martinez was a three-time All-American and still holds a number of UT records including career home runs (54), career slugging percentage (.736), career on base percentage (.494), single season batting average (.452) and single season slugging percentage (.957).

While he wore a Spartan uniform Tampa advanced to their first NCAA Division II National Championships (1986 and ’87) and won their first of twelve SSC Championships (’87). Martinez was elected to the College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2013. Current LSU head coach Paul Mainieri has been quoted as stating Martinez was, “the best player I’ve ever coached against”.

The 12 finalists consist of twelve of the top DII players in the nation:

Player / Team
Nick Beinlich, Belmont Abbey
Brandon Benson, Georgia College
Justin Childers, Ohio Dominican
Ryan Colombo, Drury
Tyler Curtis, Lynn
Connor Hoover, North Georgia
Bligh Madris, Colorado Mesa
Pablo O’Connor, Azusa Pacific
J.D. Osborne, Tampa
Trevor Rucker, Southern Arkansas
Zack Shannon, Delta State
David Vinsky, Northwood

Honorable Mention: Ivan Acuna, Winston Salem St; Logan Augustine, Lincoln Memorial; Chad Frazier, Concord; Chris Gonzalez, Mercyhurst; Dylan Harris, St. Leo; Max Hogan, Missouri Southern; Chris Miguel, Rogers St; Patrick O’Donnell, Augustana; Roberto Rivera, UNC Pembroke; Michael Rothmund, Illinois-Springfield; Cameron Santos, Chico State; Luke Setzer, Catawba; Sean Watkins, Cal State LA; Andrew Webster, Barton; Dion Williams, UA Ft. Smith

Former Tino Martinez Award Winners
2016 – Alex Wojciechowski, Minnesota Dulth Bulldogs
2015 – Nick Sell, Seton HIll Griffins
2014 – Austin Kaiser, Colorado Mesa Mavericks
2013 – Harmen Sidhu, Sonoma State Seawolves
2012 – Nathan Minnich, Shepherd Rams
2011 – Chase Larsson, Cameron Aggies
2010 – Bryan Fogle, Erskine Flying Fleet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *