2017 Josh Willingham Award Finalists Named

The finalists for the 2017 Josh Willingham Award have been determined. The Josh Willingham Award is annual honor presented to DII college baseball’s most valuable player. The award is to bestowed upon a player who not only excels on the field, but in the dugout, clubhouse and practice field as well, and leads his team to national championship caliber status. The award was created to honor players who help propel their teams to an elite level.

The award is named after the former University of North Alabama Lion star, Josh Willingham. While playing baseball at DII’s UNA, Willingham was a two-time All American and tied or broke 14 school single-game, season and career records. After his junior season he was selected by the Florida Marlins in the 17th round of the Major League Baseball Draft and played for 11 seasons, the pinnacle of which was when he earned a Silver Slugger Award after batting .260 with 35 home runs and 110 RBI in 2012.

2017 Josh Willingham Award Finalists

Brad Baldwin, Wayne State
Brandon Benson, Georgia College
Jancarlos Cintron Torres, Nova Southeastern
Ryan Colombo, Drury
Bryant Haralson, Henderson State
Zack Mozingo, Mount Olive
Pablo O’Connor, Azusa Pacific
Adrian Orozco, UC San Diego
Joseph Pena, St. Thomas Aquinas
Logan Porter, Dixie State
Trevor Rucker, Southern Arkansas
Kyle Teter, Lindenwood
Jake Walters, Quincy
Tim Wages, Lincoln Memorial

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *